Wrong decision?

Discussion in 'Game Management & Communication' started by bigpez5, Oct 2, 2008.

  1. bigpez5

    bigpez5 FHF Regular Player

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    the opposition were awarded a PS which i proceeded to save
    the call the ref gave once i had saved it was a corner to the opposition, is it not a hit out to my team?!
     
  2. Twister

    Twister FHF Regular Player

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    21
  3. mspice61

    mspice61 FHF Regular Player

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    yup the play is finished when the PS has been scored or stopped
     
  4. bigpez5

    bigpez5 FHF Regular Player

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    yer and as soon as the ball stopped in the D she gave a long corner
    :growl:
     
  5. Folmer

    Folmer FHF All Time Great

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,448
    Likes Received:
    559
    Next time bring a rules book for the ump to read in half time, cause if this is true a fresh-up course might be wise :rolleyes:
     
  6. philthy

    philthy FHF All Time Great

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    414
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    Not a helpful comment Folmer

    Yes she got it wrong.
    Lets move on and not turn this into another "slate the umpire" thread.
     
  7. bigpez5

    bigpez5 FHF Regular Player

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    i didn't even complain to her haha
    thought i'd set my team an example, as captain :yes:
     
  8. Goalie64

    Goalie64 FHF All Time Great

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,606
    Likes Received:
    271
    Mistake by the umpire. We all make them, players and umpires alike.

    Surprised the other umpire (and the other team) did not help out and correct the error.

    Sure there could be a polite and civilized way after the game has finished to address the issue. I wouldn't advise it at half time.

    If the umpire took your comments the wrong way you could be on the way to a yellow card. It's one of the risks inherrent in being a keeper captain.
     
  9. bigpez5

    bigpez5 FHF Regular Player

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    hence why i didn't complain we were losing badly at that point anyway so it wouldn't have had much of a baring either way

    just needed to assure myself i wasn't making the rules up haha
     
  10. rf253

    rf253 FHF Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Coast NSW, Australia
    Basically the umpire has given the attacking side 2 bites at the cherry so to speak, (double dipping) unless they saw another offence committed by you, but that would have constituted another PS (see Rule 13.7) certainly NOT a PC
    One of my favourite replies to players that want to whinge about an infringement I may not have seen after the game is how many times did they mistrap a pass or mishit a ball :eek: :yes: We are only human and do make mistakes also.

    I recall years ago a player in a semi final make a similar comment about getting a rule book and reading it and I turned and pulled it out of my bag side pocket and handed it to him saying here is the current one would you care to read it and show me the rule. His team mates burst out laughing and said they had never seen him shut up quicker before. lol
    Rather than giving them a rule book why not suggest they check out this website :eek: :eek: :no: lol
     
  11. deegum

    deegum FHF Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,370
    Likes Received:
    33
    Rules test for obstreperous players:
    "What colour is the cover on the rules book this year?" :p
     
  12. Twister

    Twister FHF Regular Player

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    21
    What colour was it in 1899?! lol
     
  13. deegum

    deegum FHF Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,370
    Likes Received:
    33
    What colour was it in 1899?!

    Parchment coloured, as parchments tend to be. :rolleyes:
     
  14. Folmer

    Folmer FHF All Time Great

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,448
    Likes Received:
    559
    It wasn't meant as such Philthy. It just sometime hurts me that some umps have absolutely no clue as to what they are doing, it can take the fun out of a great sport.
    And how hard can it be to just read the rules (or at least the changes) before the start of the season, can save you a lot of hassle. This couldn't hurt for some players as well.... :rolleyes:
     
  15. Dan

    Dan FHF Regular Player

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    1
    For the sake of future games, someone should inform this ref of the rule. Not being on a game day would be best.
     
  16. Paul Watts

    Paul Watts FHF All Time Great

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4,999
    Likes Received:
    66
    it would be better if you called us umpires NOT refs >: :)
     
  17. Dan

    Dan FHF Regular Player

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    1
    I hear both used here in the US. Is ref considered derogatory or simply wrong?
     
  18. redumpire

    redumpire FHF All Time Great
    FHF Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    10,573
    Likes Received:
    2,715
    Some consider it wrong; others think it's fine; it certainly isn't derogatory.
     
  19. garli

    garli FHF Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    8,915
    Likes Received:
    80
    Location:
    Santa Barbara
    In the US no one cares Dan. Even the stuffiest refs I run into. Actually when I've said Ump, they usually laugh and say we're not playing baseball.
     
  20. g9

    g9 FHF Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,470
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    oh dear...not this one again!!! Where is Keely to provide the ever helpful link to the previous discussions wherein the use of said word was tantamount to heresy and another reason why our fair land does not deserve "proper" hockey!! Need Phil's can'o'worms pic too.....
     

Share This Page