questions

Discussion in 'Indoor Umpiring Questions' started by hcpagan, Nov 29, 2016.

1. hcpagan

hcpagan FHF Newbie

hi

so i just played in a indoor tournament...in france... my team (not i) are beginners and i felt we were getting penalised alot for our lack of skill... they were getting quite disappointed with themselves...so i m here to clear up a few myths that went on...

1. umpire in the way of play....i told my players they are allowed to ask the umpires to move without fear of reprisal.

2. like i said my team are complete newbies (new team and we re in france enough said) i said that generally umpires won't punish lack of skill and will allow play to continue...but each time the ball raised 1 cm off the ground (without an opposing player near) we had a fhd....

3. we managed to score a goal but it went over the line 2 seconds after the buzzer...it had been hit well before? i m not sure of the right decision...

4. if i m dribble the ball and the defender makes not effort to move...essentially screening is this allowed....screening but with a stick on the floor? is it up to me to find another route? other wise i will be penalised for pushing them back using the ball... (i m a strong person)...

5. attacker has the ball dribbles then turns with backside in your face...essentially protecting / shielding the ball ..i have no way of getting the ball...they can do this?

6. why is it ok to flick the ball really hard so it arrives in the goal at head height through a packed circle? like several of my players had to duck...not really promoting the sport to newbies imo...is that ok?

anyway we had fun...

check us out on fb
    hockeyclubpagan....

2. redumpire

redumpire FHF All Time Great
    FHF Moderator

Hi @hcpagan

I'd answer as follows:

1. Yes they are allowed to ask, as long as they do not ask rudely.