penalty flicks

Discussion in 'PS and Goalkeeping' started by hot shot viks, Nov 25, 2007.

  1. hot shot viks

    hot shot viks FHF Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,858
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Glasgow / Edinburgh, Scotland
    Hi guys!

    sorry if this is a simple question, but if someone is taking a penalty flick, can they take more than one step?

    I have looked in the rule book, but cant seem to find anything about the taker taking however many steps!

    It was just the other day, when the team were taking penalty flicks against me, and I thought they could take more than one step, but the stand in coach said they could only take one!

    could someone clear this up for me!!!

    cheers
    :yes:

    viks
     
  2. philthy

    philthy FHF All Time Great

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    3,950
    Likes Received:
    414
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    they can take as many steps as they like... but it still has to be a flick/push - they can't just run up and smack it!
     
  3. hot shot viks

    hot shot viks FHF Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,858
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Glasgow / Edinburgh, Scotland
    I knew it!! :yes: :yes:

    nobody believed me!! :(

    the stand in coach was adamant that you could only take one step!!

    :yes: :yes: :yes:

    viks
     
  4. zippytime

    zippytime FHF Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,220
    Likes Received:
    3
    Vicks, the relevent section of the rule book is below
    The amount of steps are not too important but they do have to be in playing distance of the ball so the steps will obviously limited
     
  5. hot shot viks

    hot shot viks FHF Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,858
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Glasgow / Edinburgh, Scotland
    yeah, i read that bit!

    but I just wasnt sure if it was also referring to the amount of steps you could take too!!
    Now that i'm reading it again, it kinda does make sense! :yes:

    cheers guys!!


    viks
     
  6. philthy

    philthy FHF All Time Great

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    3,950
    Likes Received:
    414
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    had a flick against me yesterday... made the most amazing diving save with the tip of my stick...

    then the umpire made them retake it because i'd moved half an inch before she took it :(

    which i had... but still! it was an absolutely amazing save!
     
  7. hobo

    hobo FHF Regular Player

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    did you save the retake?
     
  8. philthy

    philthy FHF All Time Great

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    3,950
    Likes Received:
    414
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    nope :(

    and it wasn't anywhere near as good a flick as the first one!
     
  9. David_Underdown

    David_Underdown FHF Regular Player

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Messages:
    826
    Likes Received:
    0
    You did used to be limited to a single step, but that was chagned a few years ago (can't remember off the top of my head precisely when).
     
  10. johnreiss

    johnreiss FHF Top Player

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Messages:
    713
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    teesside
    Yes you can! I believe it was at the last amendment of the rules issues wef 1/01/07. However, you have to start within playing distance so you cant have a 10m run up and then flick it.
     
  11. keely

    keely FHF Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    10,403
    Likes Received:
    778
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    No, the ability to take as many steps as you like so long as you began within playing distance of the ball was also included in 2006 Rules - which I have in .pdf format on my hard drive. All of my other past rule books are at home in Canada so I can't check whether it came in prior to 2006 as well.
     
  12. Thistledown

    Thistledown Guest

    I have the 2005 ones printed at home, will have a look later but I think also it was 2006
     
  13. fh4me2000

    fh4me2000 FHF Regular Player

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Funny thing happened at the festival in one of the semi-final game.
    During the penalty stroke competition (game tied 2-2), a player (last player to take a stroke and try to tie the score) stepped up and waited on the whistle.
    Whistle went, he nailed it in the corner, umpire blew the whistle and signals 16 yard/meters free hit. His team lost.

    What happened? He was in front of the ball prior to taking the flick. What a bummer way to loose.
     
  14. garli

    garli FHF Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    8,915
    Likes Received:
    80
    Location:
    Santa Barbara
    Argh. I hope he isn't beating him self up over it too much.
     
  15. UmpireHockey.com

    UmpireHockey.com FHF All Time Great

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    72
    Did he position himself that way before the whistle? If so, that's "gotcha hockey" and the umpire (IMHO) should not have blown the whistle until the players where in proper position.

    Cheers...Cris
     
  16. justin-old

    justin-old FHF Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,101
    Likes Received:
    1
    I was just thinking exactly that Cris... I stronglly believe in 'preventive umpiring', especially at such set-pieces, where you can advise players, while the ball is dead, not to offend.
     
  17. fh4me2000

    fh4me2000 FHF Regular Player

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    0
    No he didn't, well not too much....it was sean from the Raptors. He missed the stroke which cause Jack & Jill to reach the finals.

    Yep it was "gotcha hockey". I fully agree with you the umpire should have warned him.
     
  18. UmpireHockey.com

    UmpireHockey.com FHF All Time Great

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    72
    Ouch! I'd like to reach out to the umpire, or ask USA Field Hockey to do so, to provide him with appropriate coaching. The issue need not be repeated. I can probably learn who the umpire was based on the game -- Raptors v Jack & Jill, right? Do you know that date (maybe they played each other more than once)?

    Perhaps just send me a personal message with those details. The point is to help the guy become a better umpire, not a berated one. This in turn will help advance the sport as we'll have one less "gotcha umpire" out there. :)

    Cheers...Cris
     
  19. osiche victor

    osiche victor FHF Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    flick taking is a unique skill..as hockey players we should strive to posses it..cheers to all those who posses it;)
     
  20. JIngleton

    JIngleton FHF Newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you define 'within playing distance'?
     

Share This Page