"own goal" experiences this season so far

Discussion in '2013 Official FIH Rules Book' started by Zakalwe, Nov 21, 2012.

  1. Adnan Mirza

    Adnan Mirza FHF Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Lalamusa, Pakistan
    it can be played from anywhere into circle ?
     
  2. jaduong

    jaduong FHF Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,400
    Likes Received:
    222
    it can even be played by the opposition goalie from his circle into the other circle and, so long as a player legitemately plays the ball, a goal will be awarded if the ball subsequently finds its way into the goal.
    so, to answer your question, yes, the ball can be played into the circle from anywhere. the important bit is what happens once the ball is in the circle.
     
  3. Adnan Mirza

    Adnan Mirza FHF Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Lalamusa, Pakistan
    yeah thanks was confused bout it.
    a goal was disallowed in practicetoday cause ball was played from outside 25 yard line.
     
  4. jaduong

    jaduong FHF Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,400
    Likes Received:
    222
    was the last touch in the circle? what happened exactly?
     
  5. Adnan Mirza

    Adnan Mirza FHF Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Lalamusa, Pakistan
    Ball was passed into circle from outside 25 and defender tried to intercept but ball just bounced of his stick into goal. and yeah last touch was inside circle.
     
  6. jaduong

    jaduong FHF Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,400
    Likes Received:
    222
  7. alex.miles

    alex.miles FHF Star Player

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes it's a goal.

    Where the ball is played from does not matter. It matters only if the last touch was inside the circle.
     
  8. Hockeyfish

    Hockeyfish FHF All Time Great

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,174
    Likes Received:
    293
    Wow, please tell me someone caught that on video?! That would be YouTube gold dust!
     
  9. Kilmory

    Kilmory Administrator
    FHF Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    1,003
    Location:
    Wirral, UK
    I bet Lotty hopes it wasn't!
     
  10. noates

    noates FHF Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    269
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    No attack in the 23. Right back plays back and round to the sweeper who decides to slap it to bottom diamond instead. Misses it and ball deflects off his left heel goes in goal just inside left post. Oppo want a PC as sweeper was inside the D but happy with the long colleague awards as no one disadvantaged. Felt a bit sheepish stopping time to confer and explaining to colleague it was actually an own goal. Both teams perplexed: angry perplexed and happy perplexed...guess which! All I could do was shrug shoulders.
     
  11. Hockeyfish

    Hockeyfish FHF All Time Great

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,174
    Likes Received:
    293
    Wow, what a mistake to make both from the sweeper and the other umpire!

    THere was a recent thread which touched on the topic of when to blow for something in your colleague's circle - this is definitely one of those times when you should!
     

Share This Page