GK clears

Discussion in 'Indoor Umpiring Questions' started by UmpireHockey.com, Dec 17, 2016.

  1. UmpireHockey.com

    UmpireHockey.com FHF All Time Great

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    72
    Indoor goalkeeper kicks shot on goal that came in a few inches off the floor and the result of the goalkeeper's kick sends the ball soaring into open space. Penalty corner, correct? If a high rebound (no kick), same penalty, correct?
     
  2. ScottishDonald

    ScottishDonald FHF Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    104
    I say yes to both, there is a difference between saving a lifted shot on goal and playing it while it is in the air.
     
  3. Mick Mason

    Mick Mason FHF Top Player

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    41
    If the kick raised the ball (the kick an attempt at a clearance), yes a PC. If it is a high rebound (no kick from the GK) and there is no danger then play on......

    9.10 Players must not play the ball when it is in the air except that a player from the team which did not put the ball in the air may stop it.
    If the ball is in the air as a result of a legitimate shot at goal which has rebounded from the goalkeeper, defender or from the goal-post or cross-bar, the ball may be stopped by a player of either team.
     

Share This Page