Coaching Philosophy

Discussion in 'Training Tips & Coaching' started by sbatewilliams, May 15, 2017.

1. sbatewilliams

sbatewilliams FHF Top Player

So my new director of hockey is guiding me along my coaching journey.

One of the more recent conversations we have had is about my coaching philosophy. He told me about his and why it is integral to a coach, but it still a very new concept to me.

It has certainly got me thinking and many thoughts are wondering around my mind.

But I am curious as to what other people see with regards to coaching philosophy's...

Do you have one?

Is it set in stone or constantly evolving?

Excited to hear other people's thoughts

sammzib and Glenn_96 like this.
  2. sammzib

sammzib FHF Legend

Stick/s:
    Y1 LB 90
    I am currently studying a sports coaching science degree, in one of our modules we discuss this and were tasked with coming up with our own. Basically they may not know it, but all coaches have a philosophy and they are constantly evolving based on our experiences both when being coached and when coaching

sbatewilliams likes this.
  3. Mick Mason

Mick Mason FHF Top Player

I have one written out, it evolves as experiances and learning inform it, and in turn it guides my behaviour. It sets out a framework for my discussions with players on our goals. It evolved last year to be formatted in part as a letter that I send out to players so that we can all be clear what I expect from the team.
    Here is a good resource to help you if you want to start a document for yourself.
    https://prezi.com/8q-vjfz8plih/building-your-coaching-philosophy-step-by-step/

4. MKochar

MKochar FHF Legend

Better thinkers make better players.
    Make them actually have to make decisions all the time, rather than 'drill' them and have decisions made for them.